The Green Knight

The Green Knight

Score: 4.19 / 10

Director: David Lowery
Producer: David Lowery, James M. Johnston, Theresa Page, Theresa Steele Page, Tim Headington, Toby Halbrooks
Studio: Elevation Pictures
Starring: Dev Patel, Alicia Vikander, Joel Edgerton, Sarita Choudhury, Sean Harris, Kate Dickie, Barry Keoghan
Genre: Fantasy
Running Time: 125 minutes

Write a Review


The Green Knight movie reviews

  • 3

    The Green Knight

    Friday, August 20, 2021 7:28:37 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Someone wrote that this will go down as a "new classic." Ridiculous. This is a film where its art-house pedigree momentarily takes over. But rest assured this dull but pretty film will be forgotten soon enough. I have always found the director to look for depth and then shoehorn it in as if some pretend profundity will make people blind to the many painfully bad elements of plot and character development.

  • 2

    The Green Knight

    Thursday, August 19, 2021 11:27:41 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Lucky to give it 1 star....should have fired the costumer designer...almost as bad as First Knights costuming...really? a soft pastel was the best they could do????? Look to Excalibur or something for more realistic period piece clothing...i.e. armor.... And why does he use the sword to cut his bonds, and then leave it behind???? Sheer stupidity.....

  • 10

    The Green Knight

    Thursday, August 19, 2021 1:02:46 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    The Green Knight ignores and subverts much of its source material. Forcing the film to rest on the shoulders of its lead actor. Luckily Dev Patel is up to the task. I loved most of the film but I wish they had kept to the source material.

  • 2

    The Green Knight

    Sunday, August 15, 2021 9:30:26 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Went there hoping there would be at least some action. Absolutely none. This is for art majors and serious film criticís. Could hardly hear them talk, and the storyline was extremely boring. Some cool scenery but thatís about it. Wish I can spend the money.

  • 7

    The Green Knight

    Saturday, August 14, 2021 5:25:12 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    This movie kept me in the dark until the end of the movie. You need to be patient and pay attention to the very end.

  • 9

    The Green Knight

    Friday, August 13, 2021 4:20:36 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    This movie is an existential question about issues such as honor v selfishness, courage v cowardice, and what do you believe is important for your life? It is slow and the pacing is not for everyone so that is a fair criticism. I believe the Dev Patel character is meant to be dislikeable because of his numerous flaws. This is due to the possibility that he might die in the course of the movie. The director uses the ambiguity of the ending to soften the possibility of his death as a talking point for each viewer's interpretation. I found it interesting and thought-provoking which was at least refreshing in the non-stop brainless flow of comic book movies over the past 5 years. The movie is asking you to think which I give it full credit for as at least its original in that aspect. Not for everyone but every 5 star movie should have some that hate it because at least it evokes a strong reaction either way.

  • 2

    The Green Knight

    Friday, August 13, 2021 8:09:44 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    terrible movie wasted my time.

  • 10

    The Green Knight

    Wednesday, August 11, 2021 8:49:55 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    How can anyone find this boring? Or not understand it? Just a top notch film. The final 5 minutes are excellent (as was the scene with the giants). An impressive movie with clearly developed themes involving honesty, honor, and redemption.

  • 8

    The Green Knight

    Tuesday, August 10, 2021 8:16:37 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Idk how so many people gave this a 1 star rating. As an art student, i loved this movie. The filmography was beautiful. The score fit perfectly. All of the tense scenes kept me on edge. There isn't a whole lot of dialog so most of the movie is told via visuals and some text. There IS dialog in it but not nearly as much as a standard movie. I just think that the people who gave this movie a 1 star are either too dumb to understand plot without it being told to their face, or they have just never seen an artsy film that isn't mainstream. Not every movie has to be Avengers, where the plot is just spoon fed to the viewer. This movie is basically a story book film. Its beautiful and ethereal. If you want a change of pace and a mesmerizing experience, go see this film. There is a lot of depth, thought, and skill put into this film... you just have to look a bit closer than surface level.

  • 1

    The Green Knight

    Tuesday, August 10, 2021 12:15:15 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    What a waste of Dev Patel's talent!!! He needs to find a new agent. He's a good actor, but with his Indian heritage this role was a total miscast. I was instantly bored. There is no plot, and the scenes are dark and depressing. I wanted to like this movie but walked out after 15 minutes. To make matters worse my chair didn't recline. I asked for my money back.