The Woman King

The Woman King

Score: 6.88 / 10

Director: Gina Prince-Bythewood
Producer: Cathy Schulman, Julius Tennon, Maria Bello, Viola Davis
Studio: Columbia Pictures
Starring: Viola Davis, Lashana Lynch, John Boyega, Jayme Lawson, Jordan Bolger, Sheila Atim, Thuso Mbedu, Adrienne Warren, Masali Baduza, Thando Dlomo, Jimmy Odukoya, Hero Fiennes Tiffin
Rating: 14A
Genre: Action
Running Time: 134 minutes

Write a Review


The Woman King movie reviews

  • 10

    The Woman King

    Wednesday, September 28, 2022 7:15:25 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    great story with great actors

  • 2

    The Woman King

    Wednesday, September 28, 2022 2:31:06 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    if you're desperate for female empowerment, and willing to squint really hard to avoid grossly distracting, politically driven historical license taken in the name of ticking all the industry required boxes, then look no further. Just please don't engage in the soft racism/sexism of lowered expectations, by invoking race, and sex, in an attempt to deflect the much deserved criticism that men face when churning out crap only half this bad (see Pathfinder, 300, Gods of Egypt, Braveheart etc.),

  • 9

    The Woman King

    Tuesday, September 27, 2022 11:30:15 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I am here because I have to come back and see it a second time. It's so good. Beautiful casting, 🎥 filming, acting and .. over all incredibly done. Top ranking.

  • 6

    The Woman King

    Sunday, September 25, 2022 2:10:10 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Viola Davis was superb in movie - I give her A+++ acting but the movie story was a little boring B+++still enjoyed seeing it.

  • 9

    The Woman King

    Sunday, September 25, 2022 5:18:00 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Everyone should see this film. It is not meant to be a documentary, but a film about female empowerment and sisterhood. This film is entertaining and features artfully, beautifully choreographed action scenes. We often allow creative license to filmmakers with men leading films, but seem to hold women to a different standard. Letís stop being so judgmental and become more curious and inclusive. Open our hearts to include all filmmakers/artists and not only a few select chosen creatives. Letís support Viola Davis, Gina Prince-Bythewood and the entire amazing cast for bringing us a few moments of entertaining pleasure. It is about time that all young girls have the opportunity to see a plethora of black heroines on the big screen. Let us celebrate this accomplishment. Love this long overdue film and will see it again and again!

  • 2

    The Woman King

    Saturday, September 24, 2022 11:57:58 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    This movie is about as accurate as a blind man shooting long distance... Overrated and overblown, the storyline is weak the acting mediocre, not a fan of painting one of the worst group of people who ever lived as some heroic, feminist fantasy

  • 9

    The Woman King

    Saturday, September 24, 2022 5:43:27 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Well done relying on good acting for emphasis not gratuitous cursing. The storyline kept my attention and a nice surprise well into the movie.

  • 5

    The Woman King

    Friday, September 23, 2022 12:24:42 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Acting by Viola Davis over-rated. The team of warrior women with her make the movie.. Yes, it based on true life but I was disappointed in the lead acting.

  • 9

    The Woman King

    Friday, September 23, 2022 2:14:05 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    THIS FILM IS BEAUTIFUL. It is not intended to be WOKE or ACCURATE - AND if other films are allowed the deference of an aspirational and inspirational "semi-fictional" narrative - this one deserves the same! Pathologically - too often, we create crudely, pathetic excuses for oppressing, critiquing, and limiting Black women in film and in the world. We are willing to honor a film about anyone else whether fictional or not (Rosewood, Django, etc.) as long as a black woman is not the lead. This must change. This film is for EVERYONE.

  • 9

    The Woman King

    Wednesday, September 21, 2022 8:45:12 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    The unity as a kingdom